Made to Order Software Corporation Logo

Brief Overview of CRISC Certification Exam

The CRISC, also known as Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control, is a vendor-neutral certification that validates a professional’s knowledge and experience in the fields of information system control & risk management. The certificate is developed and administered by ISACA and designed for the individuals who work with organizations in mitigating business risks and implement information system controls.

Organizations in today’s world must consistently enhance their infrastructure so that they can survive and thrive in today’s competitive environment. It is a known fact that changes come with its own risks. To be able to deal with these risks therefore organizations need to employ professionals who are versed in Information Technology knowledge and who know how to align and execute effective risk management. These professionals must also be able to control business frameworks bearing in mind the business objectives.

The Information System Audit and Control Association (ISACA) has created the CRISC credential program which is designed to meet the high demand of organizations by producing the CRISC professionals in the industry. The CRISC has been accredited by the American National Standards Institute under ISO/IEC 17024.

Objectives of the CRISC Exam

The CRISC certification exam thoroughly evaluates the risk management skills of an IT professional and other professionals within financial and enterprises institutions. The certification affirms that you are skilled in risk management and have the knowledge that is associated with business risks. It also shows that you have the technical knowledge needed to execute and sustain information system controls.

Domains of the CRISC Exam

The four domains of the CRISC test include:

  • Risk, Control Monitoring, and Reporting: 22%
  • Risk Mitigation and Response: 23%
  • Information Technology Risk Identification: 27%
  • Information Technology Risk Management: 28%

Details of the CRISC Exam

The CRISC exam consists of 150 questions and has a four-hour period allotted for the completion. The test is offered in three different languages, including English, Spanish, and Chinese Simplified. There are two different fee structures for the exam and are applicable to members and non-members of ISACA. Below are the detailed structures of the test fee.

  • Members of ISACA - $575 USD
  • Non-Members of ISACA - $760 USD

There are other additional fees that must be paid for the maintenance of the certification. The details of the fee are as follow:

  • Members - $45 USD
  • Non-Members - $85 USD

It is important to note that the exam fee is non-transferable or refundable. To become a member of ISACA, you will be required to complete an online registration at the official website of ISACA. To help in your preparation towards your test, you can join the CRISC Exam Study Forum. This community is a special platform where the candidates preparing to write the certification exam can share ideas, experience, study materials, and ask questions.

Prerequisite for Earning the CRISC Certification

To earn the CRISC certification, the candidate must have at least three-year work experience working Information Technology risk by executing Information System control. The candidate must also have at least three-year cumulative experience working across at least two distinct CRISC domains, one of which must be in domain one or two. It is important to mention that there is no substitution or experience waivers that are acceptable for earning the certification credential.

How to Register for the CRISC Certification Exam

Before you register or submit payment for your test, it is crucial that you review the list of exam sites that have been provided to be sure that there is an available site where you can take the exam. This is because some sites that are listed are tentative and are subject to changes. It is important that you check the tentative list of testing sites before you register or make payment because the fees are not refundable or transferable.

To register online, follow these steps:

  • Choose your preferred certification by checking the exam registration page on the official ISACA website.

  • Login to your account or create a new one if you don’t have an account yet. Ensure that the name you give on the site matches the one on your valid ID. This is because you will not be able to write the exam if your name doesn’t match what is on your ID

  • Agree with the terms and conditions on ISACA’s page and submit.

As soon as your registration and payment have been processed, you will get a notification email that entails detailed information about your exam, your chosen language and how to schedule your exam appointment.

How to Schedule your Exam Appointment

As mentioned earlier, you will receive a notification email about your exam registration. As soon as you receive it, you can go ahead to schedule your exam. Follow the steps below to register and schedule your exam appointment:

  1. Login to the website of ISACA.

  2. Click on myCertification page.

  3. Click on the Schedule Exam link which is under the pre-certification summary menu. This will take you the exam scheduling page.

  4. Follow the highlighted instructions to schedule your exam appointment. You can check the scheduling guide on the site to learn more about the procedure.

How to Reschedule or Defer your CRISC Exam

In case you cannot take your test on the scheduled date, you still have the opportunity to reschedule it without paying any extra fee if you are able to reschedule within 48 hours before the original scheduled appointment. If you don’t reschedule within this period, your registration fee will be forfeited. You can also defer your unscheduled or cancelled exam by paying $200 USD. It is important to note that you can only defer the exam once and the deferral charges are not transferable or refundable.


To pass using, you need to score a minimum of 450 in the test. However, if you score less than this, you still have the opportunity to retake it. You will be required to register, pay, and schedule another exam appointment. You will only be able to take the exam once per testing window, so if you fail, you have to register to retake the testduring the next window.